Innovation in agriculture: women pioneers at the frontiers of science

EU and American Researchers Dr. Emmanuelle Charpentier and Dr. Jennifer Doudna are credited with the discovery of one of the most promising genome editing tools of the 21st century, CRISPR-CAS9. While women are underrepresented in sciences on both sides of the Atlantic, many women are trailblazers in their fields.
Join us for “Ted-Style” talks with three agricultural scientists, who will discuss the science behind and new applications of several innovative agricultural technologies, as well as their experiences being pioneering women in their fields.
16:00 – 16:30 Opening Remarks
MEP Pilar Ayuso (EPP), Bruce Zanin, Minister Counselor for Agriculture of the U.S. Mission to EU and Judy Gelbman, Counsellor for Agriculture, Fisheries & Environment, Mission of Canada to the EU.
16:30 – 17:30 Transformative Agricultural Research: Transatlantic Trailblazers
Introduction by the Moderator: Aleksandra Malyska, Executive Manager of Plants for the Future – European Technology Platform
A Hot Potato – CRISPR Crops for Improved Nutrition and Environmental Performance - Dr. Mariette Andersson, Deputy Head of Department at Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Plant Breeding.
Genome Editing Approaches for Livestock – Advancing Animal Health - Dr. Alison Van Eenennaam, Cooperative Extension Specialist in the field of Animal Genomics and Biotechnology in the Department of Animal Science at University of California, Davis
A View from Afar – Space Technology Aiding the Agriculture Sector - Dr. Heather McNairn, Research Scientist at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in Ottawa, Ontario
17:30 – 18:00 Panel Discussion – Reflections on and Advice for Inspiring the Next Generation of Agricultural Scientists
18:00 Closing Remarks
MEP Paolo De Castro (S&D)
To register, please send an email to with the subject line – Innovation in Agriculture registration.
In the email, please include the name, surname, nationality, ID number, and date of birth. Please indicate if you need a badge to enter the European Parliament.
Deadline: Thursday: October 11th, 2018